Detail of patio tile and ironwork

Academic Programs

Calendar for 2011-2012 Academic Year and Summer Term

Fall 2011 Semester

Dates Days of Week Description
August 24-26, 2011 Wednesday - Friday Fall 2011 Officially begins; Faculty Orientation
August 27, 2011 Saturday Saturday classes begin
August 29, 2011 Monday Weekday classes begin
September 3-5, 2011 Saturday-Monday Labor Day Holiday; campus closed
November 11, 2011 Friday Veteran's Day Holiday; campus closed
November 24-26, 2011 Thursday - Saturday Thanksgiving Recess; campus closed
December 10, 2011 Saturday Last day of formal instruction.
December 12-17, 2011 Monday - Saturday Final examinations
December 19-20, 2011 Monday – Tuesday Department meetings and conferences
December 21, 2011 Wednesday Evaluation Day
December 23, 2011 Friday Instructors' grades due
December 23, 2011 Friday Last day of the Fall 2011 semester
December 26, 2011-January 2, 2012 Monday-Monday *CAMPUS CLOSED

Spring 2012 Semester

Dates Days of Week Description
January 16, 2012 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; campus closed
January 19-20, 2012 Thursday-Friday Spring 2012 Officially begins; Faculty Orientation
January 21, 2012 Saturday Saturday classes begin
January 23, 2012 Monday Weekday classes begin
March 19-24, 2012 Monday-Saturday Spring Recess; no instruction
March 30, 2012 Friday César Chávez Day Observed; campus closed
May 4, 2012 Friday Honors Convocation
May 11, 2012 Friday Last day of formal instruction
May 12-18, 2012 Saturday-Friday Final examinations
May 19, 2012 Saturday Commencement
May 21, 2012 Monday Evaluation Day
May 25, 2012 Friday Instructors' grades due
May 25, 2012 Friday Last day of 2011-2012 academic year
May 28, 2012 Monday Memorial Day Holiday; campus closed

Summer 2012 (State Support Programs Only)

Dates Days of Week Description
May 28, 2012 Monday Memorial Day Holiday; campus closed
May 29, 2012 Tuesday Session I (5 weeks) officially begins
June 29, 2012 Friday Session I ends
July 2, 2012 Monday Session II (6 weeks) officially begins
July 4, 2012 Wednesday Independence Day Holiday; campus closed
August 10, 2012 Friday Session II ends

Fall 2011 Saturday Classes

  • August 27
  • September 10, 17, 24
  • October 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • November 5, 12, 19
  • December 03

Spring 2012 Saturday Classes

  • January 21, 28
  • February 4, 11, 18, 25
  • March 3, 10, 17, 31
  • April 7, 14, 21, 28
  • May 05

 

University Holiday Schedule

Holiday Date
Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2011
Veteran's Day Friday, November 11, 2011
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24, 2011
Admission Day Observed Friday, November 25, 2011
Christmas Day Observed Monday, December 26, 2011
Columbus Day Observed Tuesday, December 27, 2011
Lincoln's Birthday Observed Wednesday, December 28, 2011
Washington's Birthday Observed Thursday, December 29, 2011
*Academic Holiday Friday, December 30, 2011
New Year's Day Observed Monday, January 2, 2012
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 16, 2012
César Chávez Day Observed Friday, March 30, 2012
Memorial Day Observed Monday, May 28, 2012
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Notes:

*No holiday available to cover closure on Friday, December 30, 2011

©