Detail of patio tile and ironwork

Academic Programs

Calendar for 2012-2013 Academic Year and Summer Term

Fall 2012 Semester

Dates Days of Week Description
August 22-24, 2012 Wednesday - Friday Fall 2012 Officially begins; Faculty Orientation
August 25, 2012 Saturday Saturday classes begin
August 27, 2012 Monday Weekday classes begin
September 3, 2012 Monday Labor Day Holiday; campus closed
November 12, 2012 Monday Veteran's Day Holiday Observed; campus closed
November 22-24, 2012 Thursday - Saturday Thanksgiving Recess; campus closed
December 8, 2012 Saturday Last day of formal instruction.
December 10-15, 2012 Monday - Saturday Final examinations
December 17-18, 2012 Monday - Tuesday Department meetings and conferences
December 19, 2012 Wednesday Evaluation Day
December 21, 2012 Friday Instructors' grades due
December 21, 2012 Friday Last day of the Fall 2012 semester
December 25, 2012-January 1, 2013 Tuesday - Tuesday *CAMPUS CLOSED

Spring 2013 Semester

Dates Days of Week Description
January 17-18, 2013 Thursday - Friday Spring 2013 Officially begins; Faculty Orientation
January 19, 2013 Saturday Saturday classes begin
January 21, 2013 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; campus closed
January 22, 2013 Tuesday Weekday classes begin
March 18-23, 2013 Monday - Saturday Spring Recess; no instruction
April 1, 2013 Monday César Chávez Day Observed; campus closed
May 10, 2013 Friday Last day of formal instruction

May 11, 2013

Saturday Honors Convocation
May 11-17, 2013 Saturday - Friday Final examinations
May 18, 2013 Saturday Commencement
May 20, 2013 Monday Evaluation Day
May 24, 2013 Friday Instructors' grades due
May 24, 2013 Friday Last day of 2012-2013 academic year
May 27, 2013 Monday Memorial Day Holiday; campus closed

Summer 2013 (State Support Programs Only)

Dates Days of Week Description
May 27, 2013 Monday Memorial Day Holiday; campus closed
May 28, 2013 Tuesday Session I (5 weeks) officially begins
June 28, 2013 Friday Session I ends
July 1, 2013 Monday Session II (6 weeks) officially begins
July 4, 2013 Thursday Independence Day Holiday; campus closed
August 9, 2013 Friday Session II ends

Fall 2012 Saturday Classes

    • August 25
    • September 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
    • October 6, 13, 20, 27
    • November 3, 10, 17
    • December 1, 8

Spring 2013 Saturday Classes

    • January 26
    • February 2, 9, 16, 23
    • March 2, 9, 16, 30
    • April 6, 13, 20, 27
    • May 4

 

University Holiday Schedule

Holiday Date
Labor Day Monday, September 3, 2012
Veteran's Day Observed Monday, November 12, 2012
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22, 2012
Admission Day Observed Friday, November 23, 2012
*Academic Holiday Monday, December 24, 2012
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25, 2012
Columbus Day Observed Wednesday, December 26, 2012
Lincoln's Birthday Observed Thursday, December 27, 2012
Washington's Birthday Observed Friday, December 28, 2012
*Campus Closed Monday, December 31, 2012
New Year's Day Tuesday, January 1, 2013
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 21, 2013
César Chávez Day Observed Monday, April 1, 2013
Memorial Day Observed Monday, May 27, 2013
Independence Day Thursday, July 4, 2013

Notes:

*No holiday available to cover closure on this day.

©