Detail of patio tile and ironwork

Academic Programs

Calendar for 2015-2016 Academic Year and Summer Term

Fall 2015 Semester

Dates Days of Week Description
August 19-21, 2015 Wednesday - Friday Fall 2016 officially begins; Faculty Orientation
August 22, 2015 Saturday Saturday classes begin
August 24, 2015 Monday Weekday classes begin
September 5-7, 2015 Saturday - Monday Labor Day Holiday; campus closed
November 11, 2015 Tuesday Veteran's Day Holiday; campus closed
November 26-28, 2015 Thursday - Saturday Thanksgiving Recess; campus closed
December 7, 2015 Monday Last day of formal instruction.
December 8-14, 2015 Tuesday - Monday Final examinations
December 15-17, 2015 Tuesday - Thursday Department meetings and conferences
December 18, 2015 Friday Evaluation Day
December 21, 2015 Monday Instructors' grades due
December 21, 2015 Monday Last day of the Fall 2015 semester
December 25, 2015-January 1, 2016 Friday - Friday *CAMPUS CLOSED

Spring 2016 Semester

Dates Days of Week Description
January 15, 2016 Friday Spring 2016 officially begins; Faculty Orientation
January 16, 2016 Saturday Saturday classes begin
January 18, 2016 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; campus closed
January 19, 2016 Tuesday Weekday classes begin
March 21-26, 2016 Monday - Saturday Spring Recess; no instruction
March 31, 2016 Tuesday César Chávez Day; campus closed
April 29, 2016 Friday Honors Convocation
May 6, 2016 Friday Last day of formal instruction
May 7-13, 2016 Saturday - Friday Final examinations
May 14, 2016 Saturday Commencement
May 16, 2016 Monday Evaluation Day
May 20, 2016 Friday Instructors' grades due
May 20, 2016 Friday Last day of 2015-2016 academic year
May 30, 2016 Monday Memorial Day Holiday; campus closed

Summer 2016 (State Support Programs Only)

Dates Days of Week Description
May 30, 2016 Monday Memorial Day Holiday; campus closed
May 31, 2016 Tuesday Session I (5 weeks) officially begins
July 1, 2016 Friday Session I ends
July 4, 2016 Monday Independence Day Holiday; campus closed
July 5, 2016 Tuesday Session II (6 weeks) officially begins
August 12, 2016 Friday Session II ends

Fall 2015 Saturday Classes

    • August 22, 29
    • September 12, 19, 26
    • October 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
    • November 7, 14, 21
    • December 5

Spring 2016 Saturday Classes

    • January 16, 23, 30
    • February 6, 13, 20, 27
    • March 5, 12, 19, 26
    • April 2, 9, 16, 23, 30

 

University Holiday Schedule

Holiday Date
Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2015
Veteran's Day Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26, 2015
Admission Day Observed Friday, November 27, 2015
Christmas Day Observed Friday, December 25, 2015
Columbus Day Observed Monday, December 28, 2015
Lincoln's Birthday Observed Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Washington's Birthday Observed Wednesday, December 30, 2015
*Campus Closed Thursday, December 31, 2015
New Year's Day Observed Friday, January 1, 2016
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 18, 2016
César Chávez Day Observed Thursday, March 31, 2016
Memorial Day Observed Monday, May 30, 2016
Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2016

Notes:

*No holiday available to cover closure on this day.

©