Detail of patio tile and ironwork

Academic Programs

Calendar for 2016-2017 Academic Year and Summer Term

Fall 2016 Semester

Dates Days of Week Description
August 24-26, 2016 Wednesday - Friday Fall 2016 officially begins; Faculty Orientation
August 27, 2016 Saturday Saturday classes begin
August 29, 2016 Monday Weekday classes begin
September 3-5, 2016 Saturday - Monday Labor Day Holiday; campus closed
November 11, 2016 Friday Veteran's Day Holiday; campus closed
November 24-26, 2016 Thursday - Saturday Thanksgiving Recess; campus closed
December 10, 2016 Saturday Last day of formal instruction.
December 12-17, 2016 Monday - Saturday Final examinations
December 19-21, 2016 Monday - Wednesday Department meetings and conferences
December 22, 2016 Thursday Evaluation Day
December 23, 2016 Friday Instructors' grades due
December 23, 2016 Friday Last day of the Fall 2016 semester
December 26, 2016-January 2, 2017 Monday - Monday *CAMPUS CLOSED

Spring 2017 Semester

Dates Days of Week Description
January 18-20, 2017 Wednesday - Friday Spring 2017 officially begins; Faculty Orientation
January 21, 2017 Saturday Saturday classes begin
January 23, 2017 Monday Weekday classes begin
March 20-25, 2017 Monday - Saturday Spring Recess; no instruction
March 31, 2017 Friday César Chávez Day; campus closed
May 5, 2017 Friday Honors Convocation
May 12, 2017 Friday Last day of formal instruction
May 13-19, 2017 Saturday - Friday Final examinations
May 20, 2017 Saturday Commencement
May 22, 2017 Monday Evaluation Day
May 26, 2017 Friday Instructors' grades due
May 26, 2017 Friday Last day of 2016-2017 academic year
May 29, 2017 Monday Memorial Day Holiday; campus closed

Summer 2017 (State Support Programs Only)

Dates Days of Week Description
May 29, 2017 Monday Memorial Day Holiday; campus closed
May 30, 2017 Tuesday Session I (5 weeks) officially begins
June 30, 2017 Friday Session I ends
July 3, 2017 Monday Session II (6 weeks) officially begins
July 4, 2017 Tuesday Independence Day Holiday; campus closed
August 11, 2017 Friday Session II ends

Fall 2016 Saturday Classes

    • August 27
    • September 10, 17, 24
    • October 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
    • November 5, 12, 19
    • December 3, 10

Spring 2017 Saturday Classes

    • January 21, 28
    • February 4, 11, 18, 25
    • March 4, 11, 18
    • April 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
    • May 6

 

University Holiday Schedule

Holiday Date
Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2016
Veteran's Day Friday, November 11, 2016
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24, 2016
Admission Day Observed Friday, November 25, 2016
Christmas Day Monday, December 26, 2016
Columbus Day Observed Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Lincoln's Birthday Observed Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Washington's Birthday Observed Thursday, December 29, 2016
*Campus Closed Friday, December 30, 2016
New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2017
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 16, 2017
César Chávez Day Friday, March 31, 2017
Memorial Day Observed Monday, May 29, 2017
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Notes:

*No holiday available to cover closure on this day.

©