Detail of patio tile and ironwork

Academic Programs

Calendar for the 2008-2009 Academic Year

Table of Contents

Changes in Rules and Policies

Although the Schedule of Classes was prepared on the basis of the best information available at the time, all information including class meeting times, course offerings, and statement of fees are subject to change with out notice or obligation. The University does not guarantee the availability of a particular course or section.

University Holiday Schedule

  • New Year’s Day Observed - Tuesday, January 1, 2008
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Monday, January 21, 2008
  • César Chávez Day - Monday, March 31, 2008
  • Memorial Day Observed - Monday, May 26, 2008
  • Independence Day - Friday, July 4, 2008
  • Labor Day - Monday, September 1, 2008
  • Veteran’s Day –Tuesday, November 11, 2008
  • Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, November 27, 2008
  • Admission Day Observed - Friday, November 28, 2008
  • Christmas Day - Thursday, December 25, 2008
  • Columbus Day Observed - Friday, December 26, 2008
  • Lincoln’s Birthday Observed - Monday, December 29, 2008
  • Washington’s Birthday Observed - Tuesday, December 30, 2008
  • *No holiday available to cover closure on Wednesday, December 31, 2008
  • New Year’s Day–Thursday, January 1, 2009
  • Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day–Monday, January 19, 2009
  • César Chávez Day–Tuesday, March 31, 2009
  • Memorial Day Observed–Monday, May 25, 2009
  • Independence Day Observed–Friday, July 3, 2009
 

Spring 2008 Calendar

Date Days of Week Description
January 17-18 Thursday–Friday Faculty Orientation
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day; all offices closed
January 22 Tuesday First official day of classes
January 26 Saturday Saturday classes begin
February 15 Saturday Last Day for Undergraduate Students to Apply for Fall 2008 Graduation
March 15 Saturday Last Day for Graduate Students to Apply for Fall 2008 Graduation
March 17-March 21 Monday-Friday Spring Recess; no instruction
March 31 Monday César Chávez Holiday, all offices closed
May 2 Friday Honors Convocation
May 9 Friday Last day of formal instruction
May 10-May 16 Saturday–Friday  Final examinations
May 17 Saturday Commencement
May 23  Friday Instructors’ grades due; Last day of the Spring 2008 semester
May 26 Monday  Memorial Day Holiday; all offices closed

Spring 2008 Saturday Classes

  • January 26
  • February 2, 9, 16, 23
  • March 1, 8, 15, 29
  • April 5, 12, 19, 26
  • May 3

 

Fall 2008 Semester

Dates Days of Week Description

August 20-22, 2008

Wednesday - Friday

Faculty Orientation

August 23

Saturday

Saturday classes begin

August 25

Monday

First official day of classes

September 1

Monday

Labor Day Holiday; campus closed

September 12

Friday

End of Late Registration / Change of Program

September 19

Friday

Last day to add with Chair’s Signature

September 22

Monday

Student Census

October 31

Friday

Deadline to Withdraw for Serious & Compelling Reasons

November 10

Monday

No classes; campus open

November 11

Tuesday

Veteran’s Day Holiday; campus closed

November 27-29

Thursday - Saturday

Thanksgiving Recess; campus closed

December 1

Monday

Spring 2009 Continuing Student Registration Begins

December 6

Saturday

Last day of formal instruction.

December 8-13

Monday - Saturday

Final examinations

December 15-16

Monday – Tuesday

Department meetings and conferences

December 17

Wednesday

Evaluation Day

December 19

Friday

Instructors’ grades due

December 19

Friday

Last day of the Fall 2008 semester

December 25-January 1

Thursday–Thursday

*CAMPUS CLOSED

Fall 2008 Saturday Classes

  • August 23, 30
  • September 6, 13,20, 27
  • October 4, 11, 18, 25
  • November 1, 8, 15, 22
  • December 6
©