Starting in 2014-2015, the Legacy Awards will present both the Maximus Awards and the Student Leadership Awards in one ceremony and one nomination form will be used for all awards. As both sets of awards celebrate leadership and contributions to CI through different lenses, it is a natural collaboration that aims to keep each award distinct yet highlight how complementary and indispensable they are to each other.

To learn more about the Legacy Awards and event details, please visit:

Award Nomination Process

In order to ensure that all deserving individuals, groups and events are considered for awards, Student Affairs encourages the campus community to nominate those who have made significant contributions this year to the co-curricular life of CSU Channel Islands.  Individuals may nominate more than one person and self-nominations are encouraged.  You may view the criteria for the Student Leadership Awards by clicking the links below.

Award recipients are selected by a committee of individuals representing faculty, staff and previous award recipients.  Using a blind review process, the committee reviews the nominations submitted by nominators and nominees.

2014-2015 Student Leadership Award Recipients

Student Leader of the Year Awards

First Year Leader of the Year

Kiana Sailor

Sophomore Leader of the Year

Grant Crater

Junior Leader of the Year

Kalie Ihrig

Senior Leader Awards

Guisela Vanessa Bahena

Kristina Cervi

Monique Reyna

Sara Sanders

Jeffrey Tedmori

Silver Dolphin Award

Sara Sanders

Group Awards

Outstanding Group

CI Model United Nations

Outstanding Student Organization

Student Nurses' Association

Outstanding Student Group Advisor

Dr. LaSonya Davis-Smith


2014-2015 Student Leadership Selection Committees

Outstanding First Year Student Leader Award, Group Awards & Outstanding Student Organization Award:

Dr. Tracylee Clarke, Dr. Genevieve Evans-Taylor, Dr. Don Rodriguez, and Russell Winans

Outstanding Junior Student Leader of the Year Award, Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award, and Outstanding Student Group Award

Jay Derrico, Haida Jimenez, Dr. Damien Pena, and Dr. Luis Sanchez

Outstanding Senior Student Leader(s) of the Year

Matt Cook, Deanne Ellison, Christine Thompson