Charge of the AABAC

The Academic Affairs Budget Advisory Committee shall serve the Provost in an advisory capacity on matters regarding the amount, structure, and distribution of the budget of Academic Affairs.  In the conduct of its business, the Committee shall seek to foster planning and budgeting transparency, longer-term as well as immediate fiscal planning, a greater understanding of budget complexities within the general membership of the Academic Affairs community, and a clear connection between the Academic Affairs budget and the University’s Strategic Initiatives.

Information Regarding Actions and Recommendations

Recommendations and information derived from meetings, actions, and decisions of the Academic Affairs Budget Advisory Committee shall be posted on the web page of the Office of Academic Planning and Budgeting. As needed, the Academic Affairs Budget Advisory Committee shall issue a summary report of its activities and recommendations. The Provost may append a report summarizing the status of recommendations made by Committee.


The Academic Affairs Budget Advisory Committee will be Co-chaired by the Provost and the Chief Academic Budget Officer who will both serve in a non-voting capacity. The Academic Affairs Budget Advisory Committee shall consist of 10 members in addition to the Provost:

  • Three Academic Department Chairs (one from MVS, SoE, and A&S), selected by the Dean of each School
  • Three faculty members from the Senate Budget Committee appointed by the Faculty Senate Budget Committee. 
  • One representative from the Library
  • An administrator appointed by the Provost from among administrators serving Academic Affairs units other than the Schools and the University Library.
  • A representative (excluding faculty and staff members from other Schools and the University Library) of Extended University designated by the Dean of Extended University.
  • A staff representative within Academic Affairs appointed by the University Staff Counsel

Terms of Office

Terms of the inaugural members of the Committee shall be staggered to insure longer-term continuity of membership. Terms of service shall be:

  • Committee Chair, Dr. Elizabeth Say, Interim Provost (non-voting)
  • Committee Co-Chair Kirk England, Assistant Vice Provost & Chief Academic Budget Officer, Academic Affairs (non-voting)
  • Sean Anderson, Chair ESRM, Arts and Sciences – Two years
  • Manuel Correia, Chair – Two years
  • John Lu, MBA Program Director, MVS – One year
  • Colleen Harris, Senate Budget Committee Faculty – Two years
  • Melissa Soenke, Senate Budget Committee Faculty – Two years
  • Eric Kaltman, Senate Budget Committee Faculty – Two years
  • Amanda Quintero, Associate Vice Provost for Student Success & Community Engagement, Two years
  • Michael Aldrich, Director of Finance and Admin., Extended University- Two year
  • Blake Buller, Assistant Articulation Officer- One year
  • Alicia Virtue, Dean of Library, Library - Two years
  • Michele Morris, MVS Admistrative Analyst Staff - Two years

AABAC FY 2022 Planning Meeting Information



Back to Top ↑