Event Awards

Outstanding Collaborative Event – “Relay for Life,” coordinated by Veronica Palafox and Jacklyn Simonson

Outstanding Service Project – “Relay for Life,” coordinated by Student Programming Board

Mentor Awards

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor – Haida Jimenez

Outstanding Mentor – Vanessa Mendoza

Housing and Residential Education (HRE) Awards

Resident Assistant of the Year - Santa Cruz Village – Tanya Yancheson

Outstanding Community Member - Santa Cruz Village – Christopher ‘Milo’ Alfarero

Resident Assistant of the Year - Anacapa Village – Alicia Milanowski

Outstanding Community Member - Anacapa Village – Max Patera

Group Awards

Outstanding Group – Orientation Leaders 2011- 2012

Outstanding Student Organization – Adelante Mujer

Most Promising Student Organization – CI Firearm Safety Club 

Student Leader of the Year Awards

First Year Leader of the Year – Chantyl Vasquez

Sophomore Leader of the Year – Christopher Bombara & Sara Sanders

Junior Leader of the Year – Tanya Yancheson

Student Leadership Programs is also pleased to announce the 2012 Outstanding Senior Student Leadership Award winners who were recognized at Honors Convocation.  This award recognizes exemplary student leadership, scholarship and service by outstanding seniors.  These individuals have demonstrated collaborative, inclusive and continuous leadership that forward the values and mission of our University.

  • Christopher Carroll
  • Emily McCarthy
  • Rebecca Torres
  • Veronica Palafox
  • Jason Barnes
  • MacKenzie Garcia
  • Michelle Miller
  • Elysse Farnell

Additionally, we congratulate Ryan Hunnewell for being honored as this year’s Silver Dolphin award recipient.   The Silver Dolphin is awarded to a student leader who has contributed significantly to the quality of life at CI and embraces the core values of the University its Mission Pillars.  This individual not only demonstrates the highest level of leadership among students but also has the respect of the entire Channel Islands Community