Starting in 2014-2015, the Legacy Awards presents both the Maximus Awards and the Student Leadership Awards in one ceremony and one nomination form is used for all awards. As both sets of awards celebrate leadership and contributions to CI through different lenses, it is a natural collaboration that aims to keep each award distinct yet highlight how complementary and indispensable they are to each other.

To learn more about the Legacy Awards and event details, please visit:

Award Nomination Process

In order to ensure that all deserving individuals, groups and events are considered for awards, Student Affairs encourages the campus community to nominate those who have made significant contributions this year to the co-curricular life of CSU Channel Islands.  Individuals may nominate more than one person and self-nominations are encouraged.  You may view the criteria for the Student Leadership Awards by clicking the links below.

Award recipients are selected by a committee of individuals representing faculty, staff and previous award recipients.  Using a blind review process, the committee reviews the nominations submitted by nominators and nominees.

2015-2016 Student Leadership Award Recipients

Student Leader of the Year Awards

First Year Leader of the Year

Andrew Hauffen

Sophomore Leader of the Year

Aryana Moore

Junior Leader of the Year

Agustin Rangel-Gonzalez

Dr. Richard R. Rush Outstanding Senior Leader Awards

Andrew Alandy

Samantha Albert

James Forrester

Kalie Ihrig

Rosalba Rocha

Outstanding Graduate or Credential Student Leader Award

Betty Ortiz

Silver Dolphin Award

Hilda Monique Renya

Zachary Valladon

Group Awards

Outstanding Group

University Experience Associates

Outstanding Student Organization

American Red Cross Club

Outstanding Student Group Advisor

Dr. Anna Bieszczad


2015-2016 Student Leadership Selection Committees

Outstanding First Year and Sophomore Student Leader Awards, Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award, and Outstanding Student Group Award:

Jay Derrico, Dr. Genevieve Evans-Taylor, and Laurita Franklin

Outstanding Junior Student Leader of the Year Award, Outstanding Graduate/Credential Student of the Year Award, and Outstanding Student Organization Award

Chelsee Bente, Matt Cook, and Dr. Damien Pena

Dr. Richard R. Rush Outstanding Senior Student Leader(s) of the Year

Deanne Ellison, Dr. Luis Sanchez, and Tanya Yancheson