Campus Recreation

Sports Clubs

The strength of the sports club program relies solely on the students. A sports club is a group of students voluntarily organized for the purpose of furthering their common interests in an activity through participation and/or competition. Interests may be competitive, recreational, instructional or a combination of these. Clubs may represent the University in intraclub competition or conduct interclub activities such as practice, instruction, and social and tournament play. Sports clubs are designed to be a learning experience for the members through their involvement in leadership, sportsmanship, fundraising, public relations, organization, administration, budgeting, marketing, management and scheduling, as well as the development of physical skills in the particular sport. Involvement in a group and team situation helps enhance the student's overall education. Clubs may vary in focus and programming, even year to year, since the members are active participants in the leadership, responsibility and decision-making processes of the clubs' activities. All sports clubs must be "official" in order to be eligible for promotion, facility use and financial assistance at CI. Please contact the Recreation Sports Coordinator, Nathan Avery at (805) 437-3266 or nathan.avery@csuci.edu if you have questions about starting a sports club.


2012 Breaking Pointe (Dance) Club

2013 Soccer Club

Sports Clubs Champions

Clubs at CI

Sport Clubs Club President Club President Email Advisor Advisor Email
Sailing Jeffrey Tedmori jeffrey.tedmori630 Beth Hartung beth.hartung
Lacrosse Erik Larson erik.larson510 Lisa Racine lisa.racine
Bicycle Kitchen Christian Cummins christian.cummins930 Erin Lamb erin.lamb
Volleyball Jamie Slattum jamie.slattum731 Nathan Avery(Interim) nathan.avery
Track Grant Smith grant.smith737 Russell Winans russell.winans010
Soccer Alex Ondrejko alex.ondrejko170 Sarah Johnson sarah.johnson
Breaking Pointe Shelby Mota shelby.mota672 Heather Castillo heather.castillo
Firearms Safety Club Richard Acosta richard.acosta948 Chris Murphy chris.murphy
Ballet Folklorico Nayada Garcia nayada.garcia988 Monica Rivas monica.rivas
Surf Kevin Piper kevin.piper818 Matt Furmanski matthew.furmanski
Golf David Duran david.duran629 Donald Rodriguez donald.rodriguez
Shotokan Karate Alfredo Martinez alfredo.martinez109 John Guelcher john.guelcher
Skate Colton Schmidt colton.schmidt717 Luke Matjas luke.matjas
©