Academic Planning is directed by the Academic Planning Committee (APC) which is comprised of faculty and administrators responsible for updating the campus academic plan on an annual basis.  It is charged with:

  • Collecting empirical data and information on program needs in the region and the state;
  • Identifying emerging fields and degree opportunities that further CI's mission;
  • Soliciting input from campus and community constituencies on program priorities;
  • Providing cost estimates for new and projected programs
  • Coordinating the introduction of state-support and self-support programs by working closely with the Dean of Extended Education
  • Providing recommendations on majors, minors, emphases and other programs to the Provost and the Academic Senate;
  • Disseminating its findings to the wider campus community.

Composition of the Academic Planning Committee

The Academic Planning Committee is composed of the following members:

Faculty serving on the Curriculum Committee.  These faculty will provide continuity and flow of information between those involved in planning and those responsible for reviewing proposals for new majors, minors, and courses.

The AVP for Academic Programs and Planning, the Dean of Extended Education, a designee from the President’s Office, the Director of Institutional Research, a faculty representative from the General Education Committee, and a student representative.

Other administrative areas may be asked for information and staff support in order to assist the planning process. The AVP for Academic Programs and Planning will coordinate the activities of the Academic Planning Committee.

Academic Planning Committee Membership for 2018-2019

  • Scott Frisch, Interim AVP of Academic Planning and Undergraduate Initiatives
  • Genevieve Marie Evans-Taylor, Chief of Staff
  • Michael Bourgeois, Exec. Director of Institutional Research Office
  • Osman Ozturgut, Associate Vice President for International Programs & Dean of Extended University
  • Chair of the GE Committee
  • Blake Gillespie, Co-Chair of the Curriculum Committee
  • Jeanne Grier, Co-Chair of the Curriculum Committee
  • Monica Pereira, Library and Counselors
  • Jasmine Delgado, Art
  • Zhong John Lu, Business and Economics

Responsibilities of the Academic Planning Committee Shall include:

  • Updating the Academic Master Plan
  • Developing Timelines for New Degrees, Programs
  • Identifying and Developing Timelines for Emphases within Existing Majors and Programs
  • Moving Programs form Self-Support to State Support
  • Providing Program Information to the Curriculum Committee
  • Soliciting Input on New Majors and Programs
  • Soliciting Information from Institutional Research (IR) and the Enrollment Management and Student Success Committee (EMSS) on Program Growth

Agendas       Minutes

Academic Master Plans

Academic Planning Committee Meeting Notes

Chancellor´s Office Program Development Documents 2016

Task Force 2005 Report

Academic Planning Process (PDF, 100.3 KB)

Academic Planning FAQ

How To Process Documents for Academic Planning, including New Degrees, Minors and Amendments to the Academic Master Plan. The Academic Programs and Planning Office will assist you in completing any of these forms. Please contact our office for more information.

1. How do I add a program to the Academic Master Plan?

The Academic Master Plan (AMP) is the primary planning document for all new degrees, whether state support or special sessions, and credentials, minors and certificates. Changes to the AMP are made annually by the Academic Planning Committee, Faculty Senate and President. New items can be added to the AMP by processing the Program Proposal Form, also known as the Short Form, usually each spring. A call for changes will be made by the Academic Programs and Planning Office.

2. What exactly is the Short Form?

The Program Proposal Form To Amend the Academic Master Plan/Short Form is used to amend the Academic Master Plan. It is available on the Academic Programs and Planning website. The form must be submitted in the spring proceeding the year of change. The form will be reviewed by the Academic Planning Committee and incorporated into the Academic Master Plan if approved.

3. What is the Long Form?

Program Proposal Form For New Undergraduate Degrees/Credentials (Long Form) details all the requirements and justification for a program. It is prepared by faculty and submitted to the Curriculum Committee. After approval by the Curriculum Committee, the long form is submitted to the Academic Senate, then approved by the Provost and the President of the University.

Approved Long Forms will then be finalized by Academic Programs and Planning Office and will be forwarded to the Chancellor’s Office for approval. The long form is submitted in the fall two years prior to an implementation date. Once approved by the Chancellor’s Office, implementation is contingent upon University resources.

4. How do I propose a New Minor?

New Minor proposals are submitted on the Proposal Form to Initiate a New Minor. The form must be submitted to the Curriculum Committee in the fall preceding the implementation date.