President's Staff Award for Excellence


 Channel Islands values diversity as an essential condition for achieving institutional  excellence. Our University thrives on the talents drawn from a diverse workforce and believes that a climate of respect, and a commitment to equity and inclusivity allows employees to perform to their maximum potential, as such, an employee who demonstrates integrity and service to the University community shall be awarded. 

This award has been created to recognize the outstanding contributions of staff members. The purpose of the President's Staff Award of Excellence is to recognize personal contributions to the CSU Channel Islands campus community, including 1) years of service, 2)job performance, 3) relationships with people and service to the University outside the work area (e.g. personal contributions to the individual work area and to the campus in general), 4) demonstration of University values and support to the Mission Pillars, and 5) efforts to take initiative in trying to make a department, or office more efficient and productive. 

The recipient of the award will be recognized at the annual service award ceremony. 

This award will be granted annually. 


Benefits-eligible staff members of the University may be nominated for an award. Faculty, MPP, student workers, and Auxiliary employees are not eligible to receive this award; however, they are eligible to nominate an eligible staff member. 

Nomination Procedure

Nominations are now closed and will reopen in late December 2018.  

Selection Committee

The selection committee consists of five members: three staff, one faculty, and one administrator. Members of the selection committee will review the nominations according to a pre-determined criteria and according to rating procedures established by the Staff Council Executive Committee.


The awardee will receive the following:

  • Award of $750 (minus payroll taxes)
  • Lunch and photo with President Beck
  • Acknowledgement on the Staff Council website
  • Plaque and letter of award

Your Nomination Matters!

Please take a few minutes to nominate a deserving staff member who is making a difference, and let the campus know why they deserve recognition.


Contact Rosario Cuevas (ext. 5870) 


2017 Staff Award for Excellence Nominees

Staff Award of Excellence Award Nominees (2017) with President Beck

Pictured in back row, left to right; Cesar Rangel, Colleen Barsley, Mike Mahoney, Emily Welsh, President Beck, Theresa Olivo, Neomi Basquez, Riki Hernandez, Alicia Milanowski, and Kevin Mapp. In front row, left to right; Karen Gundelfinger, Alison Potter, Hilda Ocampo, Jeannette Edwards, Scott Duffer, and Annette Puyolt Meza.

Nominees not pictured; Effie Karacali, James Jagelewski, and Robert Perez.

2017 Staff Award for Excellence Recipient

Alison Potter the Recipient of Staff Award of Excellence 2017

Alison Potter, Program Analyst Chicano/a Studies, History, Political Science, & University